The deadline for all nominations is June 1 of each year. For more questions or  more information send an email to or download the nomination form.

Individual Awards Categories
Engineer of the Year
Young Engineer of the Year
Engineering Student of the Year
Engineering Educator of the Year
Distinguished Service Award

Corporate/Institution /Project
Engineering Project of the Year
New Product of the Year
Engineering Firm of the Year
Engineering Department of the Year

Practice Divisions
Professional Engineer in Construction
Professional Engineer in Industry
Professional Engineer in Private Practice
Professional Engineer in Government

Deadline for nominations:  June 1


National Society of Professional Engineers- AWARDS

NSPE Award- The NSPE Award is the highest award given to an individual by the Society. It is presented to an engineer who has made outstanding contributions to the engineering profession, the public welfare, and humankind. Nomination deadline is February 17, 2024.

NSPE Distinguished Service Award- This award recognizes an NSPE Licensed Member for exceptional contributions to the Engineering Profession, to one's community, and specifically to NSPE. Nomination deadline is January 31, 2023.

NSPE Young Engineer of the Year Award-This award recognizes a young NSPE member who has made outstanding contributions to the Engineering Profession and the community during the early years of one's career. Nomination deadline is January 31, 2023.

QBS Award- Every year, ACEC and NSPE partner to administer the QBS Awards, recognizing public and private entities that make exemplary use of the Qualifications-Based Selection process at the federal, state and local levels. QBS Award winners serve as examples of how well the QBS process works, and they help ACEC and NSPE promote the practice of QBS in jurisdictions that do not use, or underuse, QBS to procure engineering services.

Three QBS Awards
A maximum of one QBS Award shall be presented in each of the following categories:

Federal Government Sector
State Government Sector
Nongovernment Sector
Nominations may originate from an ACEC Member Organization, an NSPE State Society, a public or private entity, or an individual in the public or private sector. Self-nomination is not permitted. Nomination deadline is October 31, 2023.

Engineering Education Excellence Award- The Sustaining Universities Program of the Professional Engineers in Higher Education of the National Society of Professional Engineers has established an award to recognize engineering educators each year.

This national award recognizes engineering faculty who have demonstrated the ability to link engineering education with professional practice. The recipients must be licensed and have a faculty appointment in an ABET-accredited engineering program. The recipients of the award will be recognized on the NSPE Web site and will receive a cash prize of $5,000. Nomination deadline is March 31, 2023.

PEGASUS Award- The Professional Engineers in Government is administering the annual PEGASUS Award program. The Professional Engineer in Government Achievement and Service in the United States Award recognizes the engineer who has made the most outstanding contribution to the advancement and practice of engineering. The PEGASUS award will honor a registered professional engineer employed by a state, regional, county, special district, or municipal government. Nomination deadline is March 31, 2023.

PEPP Award- The PEPP Award is given annually to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement and recognition of the role of private practice in serving the public interest. Any individual, except a current PEPP officer or PEPP Awards Committee member, is eligible. Nominations for the PEPP Award are made by PEPP Executive Committee Members or State Chapters. All nominations are due to the Awards Committee by April 30. The Awards Committee selects a winner with concurrence from the PEPP Executive Board. Nomination deadline is April 30, 2023.

Federal Engineer of the Year- The Federal Engineer of the Year Award, sponsored by the Professional Engineers in Government, honors engineers employed by a federal agency that employs at least 50 engineers worldwide. Nomination deadline is October 31, 2023.